Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is responsible for adding value and critical input to guide the Centre in delivering its mission.

Formed in August, the Committee comprises eminent people from diverse backgrounds and supports the work of the Centre through introductions and network opportunities from their own extensive networks. In 2021, the Advisory Committee held its first meeting in August to establish a terms of reference, discuss additional members and provide feedback on the Centre’s Strategic Plan. The committee plans to meet once a year, in addition to running involvement in the Centre’s research planning and operations.

Message from the Advisory Committee Chair

“I am thrilled to be working with this groundbreaking initiative and for the Advisory to be working with such a wonderful range of academics and partnerships. The Advisory Committee’s key message for the Centre in its establishment year was to focus on increasing the diversity of the Centre to involve younger people, children and people from non-English speaking backgrounds, including refugees, and their participation in the co-design of Centre activities and research. The importance of equity and diversity should be explicit in Centre material. There’s never been a more important time, as we have seen accelerated during COVID-19, to ensure the community has accessible and informed knowledge for raising healthy and educated children and young people in a digital age.”

Taryn Marks


  • Advisory Committee
  • Chair
    Taryn Marks
  • Centre Director
    Professor Susan Danby (QUT)
  • Members
    Emeritus Professor Paul Chandler
    Professor Barbara Comber AM
    Megan Mitchell AM
  • Directorate
    Professor Sue Bennett (UOW)
    Professor Susan Danby (QUT)
    Lisa Walker (QUT)

The Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for the Digital Child acknowledges the First Australian owners of the lands on where we gather and pay our respects to the Elders, lores, customs and creation spirits of this country.